Sun Ra – Sun Song

Sun Ra - Sun song

One of the great classics in our collection is the album Sun Song by Sun Ra.

Originally released in 1956 on Transition Records, this is the most acccessible work in Sun Ra’s catalog, close to Chicago hard bop. It also was the first album that was widely distributed, therefor often seen as Ra’s debut, acoording to the All Music Guide.
We have licensed the album from Delmark Records and released it on 180-grams vinyl, pressed in Germany by P&O. The lp has  ‘Swing A Little Taste’ as a bonus track

Personnel: Sun Ra, piano; Art Hoyle & Dave Young, trumpet; John Gilmore, tenor sax; Pat Patrick, baritone sax; Jim Herndon, tympani; Robert Barry, Drums; Julian Priester, trombone; Richard Evans, bass; Wilburn Green, electric bass; James Scales, alto sax.